Crime Victim Compensation Program
THE CRIME VICTIM COMPENSATION PROGRAM HAS MODIFIED OPERATIONS DUE TO NOVEL CORONAVIRUS 2019 (COVID-19).
To read the statement and summary of policy modification download the PDF below.
Victim Compensation Board meetings are open to the public. To view the public notice and agenda for upcoming Crime Victim Compensation Board Meetings see the 'Public Notices and Agendas' section below.
In many crimes there are victims left alone to deal with what has happened. Often these victims are children or individuals who have few means to cope with the problems or recover the losses. The state of Colorado has created the Victim Compensation Program to assist victims of crime.
Please click on the titles below to view additional information
- Sexual Assault
- Child Physical Abuse
- Child Sexual Abuse
- Vehicular Homicide
- Domestic Assault
- Vehicular Assault
- International Terrorism
- Careless Driving Resulting in Death
- Failure to stop at the scene of an accident resulting in death
- The crime must have occurred within Mesa County on or after July 1982 or in a state without compensation.
- The crime must have been reported to a law enforcement agency within 72 hours. This may be waived by Board agreement.
- The victim must cooperate fully with law enforcement officials.
- There does not need to be an arrest or conviction.
- The victim must apply within one year of the crime.
- This may be waived by Board agreement.
How It Works
How It Works
In 1982 the state of Colorado enacted the Crime Victim Compensation Act. Funds for this program come from fines collected from adults and juveniles who are convicted of crimes. Awards to victims are made by the Crime Victim Compensation Board whose three members are volunteer citizens appointed by the District Attorney.
Financial Limits If you are insured Victims may be compensated up to $30,000. Victims may be eligible for compensation for what insurance and insurance co-pays do not cover.
A maximum of $30,000 may be considered by the CVC Board for treatment of physical injuries that are a direct result of a compensable crime committed, application received or payments disbursed. Any medical claim that exceeds $30,000 will be prorated. The unpaid balance of the bills becomes the responsibility of the victim or claimant.
The CVC Board considers payment of medical expenses a priority. Payment of medical expenses is based upon the submission of written, itemized billing statements or estimates verified as directly related to a compensable crime as well as reasonableness of service costs. Payment of medical expenses is subject to the availability of compensation funds.
Victim Compensation is the payor of last resort, as such, all health insurance coverage, including Medicaid and Medicare, or the Colorado Indigent Care Program, must be utilized before payment can be made through the CVC fund. The CVC Board can pay a deductible or portion of bill not covered by insurance. A copy of the claim form showing the deductible and percentage paid is required before payment can be made through the CVC fund.
Losses Compensated - Losses Not Compensated
|Losses That May Be Compensated||Losses NOT Compensated|
Board Information and Vacancies
The Crime Victim Compensation (CVC) Board is made up of three volunteer members that are appointed by Dan Rubinstein, District Attorney. Although appointed by the District Attorney, the CVC Board is an independent board. The District Attorney does not and cannot influence any decision the Board makes. Each judicial district has a separate board. Each board is different and helps individuals that were victimized inside their jurisdiction. This CVC Board serves the 21st Judicial District (Mesa County).
The CVC Board strives to help innocent victims of crime initiate their recovery from the financial, physical and emotional trauma resulting from victimization by evaluating applications for financial assistance and the judicious disbursement of monies from the Crime Victim Compensation Fund. The CVC statute, C.R.S. 24-4.1-101 et seq. limits the types of crimes and losses that are eligible for financial assistance.
Board members meet once a month to review applicant requests and make approval decisions. Board members also meet twice annually to review administrative, programmatic and financial issues related to Crime Victim Compensation. This position has a time commitment varying between 8 and 15 hours per month, and is dependent on the number and complexity of applications received.
There are no openings on the Crime Victim Compensation Board at this time.
Public Notices and Agendas
For more information or to make a referral, call Victim/Witness Assistance - (970) 244-1730.
We also have the names of Victim Compensation Coordinators in each judicial district and each state if you need to refer someone to the Victim Compensation Board where the crime occurred.
The Crime Victim Compensation staff and Board shall not discriminate because of race, creed, color, religion, sex, age, national origin, political affiliation, sexual orientation, veteran status, disability or any other non merit factor in the acceptance, review and approval of a Crime Victim Compensation application and request. To file a discrimination complaint, please visit the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services - Office for Civil Rights website.